Where do we go now?

Last week I saw a film at the BFI called “Where do we go now?” The film is great, but the content is not very relevant to Postgraduate Medical Training. The title, however, got me thinking….

The Royal Colleges and NES, who make the NHS physician ePortfolio, are drawing up ‘roadmaps’ which set out a vision for future directions. This is great, as their aims, objectives and ideas are being carefully constructed. But where is the trainee input to this process?

Where do we go now?

Where do we go now?

So, if the JRCPTB and NES are going to have ‘roadmaps’, I propose we write our own. I have started a Googledoc. You can edit it by clicking this link:

If  you don’t participate when given the chance don’t complain when you have to do 100 WPBAs a week, link every curriculum item to 50 pieces of evidence and there’s still no app in 2020

Go on, contribute. Put your ideas on paper. Make change happen. If you don’t other people will make decisions for you. I doubt you’ll like them.

6 responses to “Where do we go now?

  1. thanks for your blog entry.We are fortunate to have an onus professionally to reflect. However this has been cumbersome in its current form rather than enjoyable and constructive. I believe the data we put in is lost and hence largely useless other than as a “ticking box exercise”. I have spent the last day turning over in my head what I want from my eportfolio and I want something that is: flexible, searchable, shareable, beautiful, collectable, evolutionary and above all a tool for improvement. I can safely say that I am a reflector but I have NEVER looked back at my eportfolio entries. They are largely introspective, hidden and non-collaborative.

    What I would like is a blend of twitter, a blog, google + and google docs. I could work on my own on this. If people other than my appraiser were interested they could read, search and comment. Communities could develop for example a department, practice or speciality training scheme. Sharing of ideas, comments, collaboration and goals could emanate from such a sharing of information. We could even share mistakes god forbid! Of course all it would need then is a counter for all those boxes to tick and link. Perhaps a friend could programme this. Open source of course.

    Ben.
    GP trainee.

    • Thanks so much for your comments. I share many of your views. Please do edit the “roadmap” accessible through the link above, in particular adding your ideas about the most important principles (ie ‘searchable’ ‘beautiful’ ‘tool for improvement’) – I am very keen for collaboration on this. Thanks.

      • Hi, added a few comments and will keep an eye out for developments. By the way, have you got any idea whose responsibility it is to do the tick box counting? I feel that it is a distraction from my everyday learning. I will try and post my comments from RCGP eportfolio summary also. Keep up the pressure! Ben

  2. Pingback: What would you ask? | The NHS ePortfolio Revolution starts here

  3. Pingback: Acronym Soup: RCP, JRCPTB, WPBA, SLE, AoP, AoMRC ATDG | The NHS ePortfolio Revolution starts here

  4. Pingback: Feedback from NES events | The NHS ePortfolio Revolution starts here

Leave a Reply

